Journal, Lifestyle

August | Little Wins of 2018

This is two days late. I have no excuses except that I drank some wine and went home late on the last day of August. It was totally against what I have planned the whole day last Friday, which was to go home way earlier than usual and just relax for the rest of the day.

Anyway, August. Hm. It was supposed to be the best month for me as it has always been because, it’s my birth month. But the truth is, I have been on a slump for almost the whole month. I don’t deactivate social media much but it’s been almost 2 weeks (discontinuous) that my Facebook is deactivated and I only logged on to Twitter and Instagram because I need to look for a specific post and person, respectively. Lol.

It’s supposed to be a fun month for me but I’ve never been as emotional as I have been in August. I’m trying to change it tho and make things back to normal. Nevertheless, there are still some August little wins to celebrate and make me realize that I have been blessed.

Fountain, Landscape, Amateur Photography
The view in front of the Japanese Tunnel attraction at the North.

For one, I’ve done some lectures for a small audience of about 20-30 people. It was part of my job and we were a group who gave lectures on different topics but I feel proud that I prepared most of the program, the lectures, and some administrative stuff. It was merely two lectures and it didn’t make me better in public speaking but I’m still proud. ☺️

Because of those lectures I was able to travel outside the city for a bit. It’s been months since I was outside of Manila. Haha.

Candles, Padre Pio Church
Devotees of Padre Pio flock this church to light candles and say their heart’s desires.

My mom was with me and my brother during my birthday! Yay free food. Lol. Adulting has been tough this month so it’s awesome to get to eat without having to think of the bill. Haha! And I get to visit a church I haven’t been to, light candles, and pray for my desires and future.

Banner, Birthday
Happy birthday banner for my late birthday celebration. Lol.

I’m still grateful for people who make efforts to make each birthday special for me. I got a surprise home-made birthday cake from one of my best friends, a bundle of make up and skin care, and a surprise mini birthday party from my supervisor and colleagues.

For the blog, I didn’t get the most views this month given that I haven’t been giving it much attention but I checked and August is second in having the most blog posts after July. Even if those posts were mostly Wednesday Wonders, which are only photographs with a bit of story, and Friday Faves, which are just lists of anything that I like, it still feels nice that I was able to post something and not completely neglect the blog. And the views are still above my expectations so all’s well. I just hope I would be able to post more this September. And the Twitterverse is still great and supportive.

I had a great late birthday with one of my group of friends. Two of us from the group had our birthdays last month so we decided to make our game night as some sort of celebration where we had lots of Pizza, Chicken Wings, Beer, and Donuts. It was one weekend away from the harsh reality of life. I got to forget for a bit. Anyway, it was great to spend time with people who are tame (lol) and woke. I mean, we don’t get wild during game weekends – the wildest thing would probably be playing until 4 AM and then going back home at 12:30 AM the next day. We played like 2 board games and a computer game, and drank like 2 cans of beer each, and ate a lot. We also watched a horror movie on Netflix. For me, watching that movie was covering myself up with my hoodie and only peeking when I feel like nothing on the screen would scare me. Oh! And it was fun just talking about anything and discussing the current status of the country as if we’re like-minded people. We probably are because we’re part of the same committee for our college organization (org) so we’ve worked together on outside of org events and even spent late nights with each other which we called friendship circles in the past.

I’ve also spent time with some of my best (office) friends outside work. We’ve known each other since entering the university so we have a lot in common to talk and rant about. I love that nothing much has changed even if we see each other less even at work. It’s been hectic for us as it’s almost the end of the year.

Oh! I also watched a movie in a cinema alone. I wanted to watch more but that was for some sort of Filipino film festival and I didn’t have enough time to watch the other films. Tho one of my friends thought that the movie and its story sucked so I’m here rethinking my movie critiquing skills. Haha.

Lastly, I watched Crazy Rich Asians with my aunts and brother the night before an exam that I was really irritated about for reasons I can not disclose. That exam was difficult. Almost none of what I reviewed about came out so thank goodness I watched the movie. I wouldn’t have any expectations for my performance. Don’t get me wrong tho, I tried hard to answer and recall everything I’ve learned in the university, which was n years ago. Lol.

Aside from these things, everything was part of my everyday routine of going to work, working, and heading back home.

Anyway, isn’t it nice to know that even when you have been feeling down for a while, life still surprises you with little wins to celebrate?


This is it for my monthly roundup of little wins. I apologize if it seems a bit gloomy or negative. I know it will get better. I’ll make sure of it.

I hope you’ll still join me in this blogging ride in the next months!

September will be awesome! Let’s make that a mantra from now. 😉

Random Musings Blog

2 thoughts on “August | Little Wins of 2018”

  1. Aww happy belated! I am happy your celebrated your birthday!! And I really hope this month is better for you. The last two months haven’t been the greatest for me either but we’ve got to stay positive xxx

    Liked by 1 person

Kindly leave your comments here!

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.